[Appointments – Medical Cannabis Task Force]

Motion appointing Hunter Holliman, Leonard Watkins, Martin Olive, Sarah Shrader, Brent Saupe, and Jean Talleyrand, terms ending December 31, 2012, to the Medical Cannabis Task Force, residency requirement waived.

MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco does hereby appoint the hereinafter designated persons to serve as members of the Medical Cannabis Task Force, pursuant to the provisions of the San Francisco Administrative Code, Sections 5.2-1 through 5.2-6, for the terms specified:

Hunter Holliman, seat 2, succeeding David Goldman, resigned, must be a representative of a local patient advocacy organization with a background in working to protect the interests of medical cannabis patients, for a term ending December 31, 2012.

Leonard Watkins, seat 4 (residency requirement waived), succeeding Mary Schroeder, resigned, must be a representative of a hospice or a residential care facility with a background as an employee or volunteer in direct services working with medical cannabis patients or as a nurse or physician with a background in working with or treating of medical cannabis patients, for a term ending December 31, 2012.

Martin Olive, seat 6, succeeding Martin Olive, term expired, must be a person with a background in the management of a medical cannabis dispensary, for a term ending December 31, 2012.

Sarah Shrader, seat 8, succeeding Sarah Shrader, term expired, must be a representative of a drug policy organization working specifically on medical cannabis issues, for a term ending December 31, 2012.

Rules Committee

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

24

25

Brent Saupe, seat 10, succeeding Albert Blais, resigned, must be a person with a background in providing medical cannabis to low-income patients, for a term ending December 31, 2012.

Jean Talleyrand, seat 15, new appointment, must be a licensed or an accredited health care practitioner practicing in San Francisco with a background in medical cannabis and familiarity with the laws and regulations governing medical cannabis, for a term ending December 31, 2012.

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors makes the following findings:

- The membership of the Medical Cannabis Task Force has a goal to be representative of the diversity of the City and County of San Francisco.
- Applicant Leonard Watkins, a new appointee, who is not a resident of San
 Francisco, is a person with experience that uniquely qualifies him to serve on the
 Medical Cannabis Task Force.
- 3. The Medical Cannabis Task Force has attempted to fill the position, for which Leonard Watkins was nominated, with an individual who is a City resident and who has the specific experience, skills, and qualifications, but has been unable to do so at this time. The Rules Committee has certified that Leonard Watkins is qualified to serve on the Medical Cannabis Task Force.
- 4. After exercising due diligence, the Board of Supervisors concludes that there is no other possible representative, who is a resident of San Francisco and who has the specific experience, skills, or qualifications possessed by this applicant, and who is willing to serve on the Medical Cannabis Task Force at this time; and, be it

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors waives the residency requirement for Leonard Watkins, as allowed in cases where no qualified City resident, willing to serve, can be found, pursuant to Section 4.101 of the City Charter that requires person(s) appointed

to boards, commissions, and advisory bodies established by legislative act of the Board of Supervisors to be resident(s) of the City and County of San Francisco.

Rules Committee



City and County of San Francisco Tails

Motion: M11-171

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

File Number:

111178

Date Passed: December 06, 2011

Motion appointing Hunter Holliman, Leonard Watkins (residency requirement waived), Martin Olive, Sarah Shrader, Brent Saupe, and Jean Talleyrand, terms ending December 31, 2012, to the Medical Cannabis Task Force.

November 03, 2011 Rules Committee - CONTINUED TO CALL OF THE CHAIR

November 17, 2011 Rules Committee - PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

November 17, 2011 Rules Committee - RECOMMENDED..

December 06, 2011 Board of Supervisors - APPROVED

Ayes: 11 - Avalos, Campos, Chiu, Chu, Cohen, Elsbernd, Farrell, Kim, Mar, Mirkarimi and Wiener

File No. 111178

I hereby certify that the foregoing Motion was APPROVED on 12/6/2011 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

> Angela Calvillo Clerk of the Board